Spiders!

“”Come into my parlor!” said the spider to the fly!”

DSC00206

DSC00207

Many of the littles in Kindergarten struggle with bravery at this time of the year as even the first peal of shivery music of the season can send them over the edge!  Since I want music to be FUN and not TERRIFYING, I begin our Silly Scary unit with familiar everyday scary things!

Of course, we sing Itsy, Bitsy Spider and then we play a game I found on Pinterest last year from familyreunionhelper.com.   The children love the modified version and it provides wonderful opportunity for text extension, expression and vocal development.

spider

I bought the non-scary, colorful, soft spiders from Walgreen’s last year.

Click here for a PDF of the song.

Click here for a list of songs/activities in my Silly, Scary unit.

2 Comments

  1. Victoria Siems

    Only in Tx can your kids still wear shorts this time of year ;)

  2. Becky Gillette

    I’ve been teaching kindergarten music for twenty years, and this is the first year that I have used Itsy Bitsy Spider and There’s a Spider on the Floor from Raffi. I used hairy dollar store spiders, but the kids would like the softer plastic ones better. They had a lot of fun with it and I’m able to avoid Halloween directly for my students who don’t celebrate it. I also discovered the darling picture book, Aaaarrgghh! Spider!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

